Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I love reading Joseph Campbell and Carl Jung’s writings about the Hero’s Journey.

I’m working on a new song, playing around with these archetypal themes.  Will hope to record soon.  For now, here are the lyrics:

Sidney_Hall_-_Urania's_Mirror_-_Delphinus,_Sagitta,_Aquila,_and_Antinous

 

Sagitta

Meet me at the Arrowhead Trail head.
Tell me you love me and I’ll fall into your arms.
You’ll teach me the bluebird’s song when we stop at the waterfall
and I’ll get lost in your charm.
But when arrows cross, someone’s always bleeding,
and you’ll be the one to survive.

(Chorus)

Lift me up! So high above your head
So I can reach the stars and shine, again
Lift me up! You hold me in the stars
I’m counting on your strong arms
to get me all the way to Sagitta.

 

Thank you for the lift, I love it in the sky.
And now in return, I’ll be your arrow in the night.
You can use me to chase away your demons,
save Prometheus from eagles,
or whatever weighs you down.
Will you find me every night? I’ll be watching as you fight
with your strong arms that brought me here
and raised me to life.

(Chorus)

We all need a hero, to hold on, hold onto…but even when your hero leaves, they’re still holding onto you

(Chorus)