Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Ariel, from Ades “The Tempest”

Thomas Ades wrote this masterpiece of an opera (commisioned by the Royal Opera House) that debuted in 2004. The libretto, by Meredith Oakes, is based on Shakespeare’s The Tempest.

I love comparing composers’ interpretations of the same myths, stories, histories…but first wanted to impress that Ades’ Ariel is my favorite. I’m far from a music critic, but the eerie, mystical, sprightly, unpredictable intonations & inflections are just like I’d imagine a little spirit like Ariel to be. Here’s what German critic, Spinola, had to say about the opera after it’s debut in Germany: (article)

‘Sein „Sturm“ lohnt den Opernbesuch.’
Frankfurter Allgemeine (Julia Spinola), 12 January 2010

and translated:

His “storm” is worth the trip to the opera.

I’ll definitely brave that storm if I have the chance. Looks like the Met will premiere it in November 2012- might have to take my chances!

Check out Ariel’s “five fathoms”