Tags

, , , , , ,

so my father, Mario, and his best friend, Johnny, lived in the same apartment building in Trieste, Italy. In their teenage years, they moved- dad came here to USA and Johnny went down-under. They never talked or kept in touch, because, hey, it was the 1950s, enuff said.

years later, we are “found” by Johnny’s son on the internet and were ASTOUNDED to find out about Johnny’s life. Johnny became an opal miner. He and his family lived (for some years) UNDERGROUND in Coober Pedy, Australia, where scorching temperatures prevent persons from being above ground, really. GO CHECK THIS OUT, it’s unbelievable, it really is. You have to go look at the underground houses- I don’t have pictures that I can legally share šŸ˜‰

I got to visit with Johnny and family back in early 2002 or so where they retired in Adelaide, above ground, haha. His stories of mining opals and his home collection left my mind spinning and glimmering šŸ™‚ The coolest part of this all was probably his accent- which you can’t even imagine- Italian mixed with Aussie. HA! Much great wine tasting occurred, not to mention fun with road signs, like “Give Way” for “Yield” and “Kangaroo Crossing.” I could go on and on, but I digress and I have 1,000 things to chart out for musicians for Christmas Eve still. Maybe I’ll post a pic or two from down under over the holiday “free spree”. One of the best trips of my life! such joy thinkin on it. I want to go back!!! wow. I also want to set my opals into jewelry when I decide I can afford to do that, heheh.

here’s a sweet video about opal mining- check out this machinery! geesh! love it.