Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve enjoyed this morning, accompanied by Kodaly’s Dances of Galanta– quite a call heritage call! Pure luxury.

this morning, over coffee, tangerine, and Kodaly, I decided to revist my dream of writing a Mass, which I’ve wanted to do forever. I hope my influences ring richly in my writing, as I can think of no greater honor than for someone to say that it sounds like I was influenced by one of my favorite composers. With that in mind, I have to surround myself with music for days- shouldn’t be very hard to do šŸ™‚ I want to be a library of sacred music.

I was inspired by a few people on wordpress who are like libraries, each in their own way:
one who I’ve learned a great deal about shipwreck history & process from….he surrounds himself with books of his passion: check out this book review that was just freshly pressed this week– always an interesting link to a time and place that is not our own, yet it somehow IS our own. always genius.

Another blog I’ve enjoyed, the “some people will read anything” blog, The Daily Omnivore– always filled with interesting articles of random random random and i love it! always thought provoking.

The other library is a theologian from Notre Dame whose spiritual blog is great food for thought, heart, and soul. always nurturing.

I figure I should follow through and start surrounding myself with Masses from the greats: Rach’s Vesper Mass and Kodaly’s Mass diurnally— it will be like music school all over again! I’ve conducted Mozart’s Sparrow Mass & Litaniae de venerabili altaris sacramento, Poulenc’s Gloria, Kyrie, La damus te, obviously Rutter’s Children’s Mass…any others you’d recommend?

It seems fitting that I’d close with a reference to one of my all-time favorite short stories:
“The Library of Babel” by Jorge Borges….