Tags

, , , , , ,

11.11.11.
rousseau had me at hello, caution to you readers who are hoping for reason & numbers.
it’s a good day to start an empirical blog that reminds me of how small i am as i share my thoughts among some 400,000 other bloggers at this site alone…ranging from quarks to dopamine cells to the history of fugues…

for some odd reason, on a day symbolized with a repeating, most Pythagorean pure & most finite, number(Barrow, 2005, p. 90), i can’t help thinking about time, matter, and meaning. Although it’s become part of my ritualized, circadian pattern, I am most sure that my reflection is inspired by the text I am engrossed in, The Infinite Book, by John D. Barrow. Barrow (2005) discusses how Aristotle would not consider any object as infinite in size, but that “pieces of matter can be divided without limit and so the infinite is immanent within every piece of matter in the world” (p. 29). He continues with arguments about potentiality and actuality in Aristotle’s Physics and Lear’s recognition that objectification allows the study of substances (finite) which embody the infinite (Barrow, 2005). God I love this. and here I am on this objectified revolution number 11.11.11.

so begins my blog of inquiry.

and to the list of the things “I want”
lemniscate bookshelf unit designed by Dutch artist, Job Koelewijn.

Photo: Job Koelewijn - via KNAW Pressphoto


[Knaw via Neatorama]

Note: Barrow, John D. (2005). The Infinite Book. New York: Pantheon Books.